To Be Seen

Posted on February 16, 2013

13


Safety Not Guaranteed

2 Lunchbreaks

There is a big difference between popularity and being seen. One requires many people, the other only requires one.

Safety Not Guaranteed‘ is essentially a movie about two people moving through life unnoticed. Both are loners, possessing neither the beauty or personality required by the world for popularity, but like all of us they want to be seen. One of my favorite moments in the movie was when Kenneth explains to Darius his need for a partner:

Kenneth: When you choose a partner you have to have compromises and sacrifices, but it’s a price you pay. Do I want to follow my every whim and desire as I make my way through time and space, absolutely. But at the end of the day do I need someone when I’m doubting myself and I’m insecure and my heart’s failing me? Do I need someone who, when the heat gets hot, has my back?

Darius: So … do you?

Kenneth: I do.



So true … after all, aren’t we all traveling through time and space.



Posted in: Movies, People