Take Shelter

Posted on September 29, 2012


3 Lunchbreaks

“You think I’m crazy? Well, listen up, there’s a storm coming like nothing you’ve ever seen, and not a one of you is prepared for it.”

Afterthought: Don’t read this and interpret that I think I am psychic (not at all what I am saying). Rather, see that I am trying to understand how my anxiety affects my normally quite reliable judgment.

I have good intuition. A psychologist told me it can be attributed to my rare INFJ personality type (1% of the population). I can often with very little information form a pretty accurate judgement about a person or situation. These feelings come from somewhere deep within my inner world and are often not able to be explained with logic … for this reason, I often choose to keep them to myself. However, my inner world has judged the outer world correctly too many times for me to ignore it and these feelings can weigh heavily on me at times.

BUT … as someone who also battles with anxiety, what is the source of my feelings when it is evil I feel or the worst outcome that I see?

If it is my intuition – I should act to protect loved ones who could be hurt.
If it is my anxiety – I should breathe and pray it passes quickly.

I wouldn’t say I enjoyed the movie “Taking Shelter” … but part of me that I really don’t enjoy … did.

Posted in: Movies, Objects, People