Casting Pearls

Posted on June 3, 2012

0


Lazy Sunday

Casting pearls before swines. Giving something of value to someone who does not appreciate or value it.

There are many ways this proverb can be applied. I have heard it used by educators, I have heard it used by doctors, but in this post I am using it in reference to the objectification and abuse of women.

The significance of human trafficking and sex slavery only really came to my attention this past year, through contact with a friend of mine who is passionately involved in helping women rescued from trafficking (through an organization called ‘Bloom‘). Human trafficking for the purpose of sex exploitation is the second largest source of income for organised crime in the world today and fast becoming the largest.

I thought of these women as I sketched this. Women who have had their pearls stolen and thrown to swines. Women who through circumstances beyond their control have cast their pearls before swines.

I’m a country boy and was brought up to respect women and treat them as pearls. But I am older and live in the city now. I see daily, men who treat women as objects of no value. I hope the world changes for the better before my pearls are grown.

“Men and girls, men and girls: Artificial swines and pearls.”
(Gertrude Stein)

Posted in: Objects