I Think It’s Going To Rain Today

Posted on July 4, 2011

0


3 Lunchbreaks …

Doors – Babies play peek-a-boo and are excited to see what’s behind them.
Doors – Toddlers love Play School and guess which shaped one to go through.
Doors – Children cut them in cardboard boxes for fun places to play and hide.
Doors – Teenagers walk through them with fear for their first job interviews.
Doors – Adults walk through them with joy to enter their first home.

Doors open and close all our lives …

In my Park I now peek behind this square-shaped door each day.
There is nothing fun about what is hidden there.
I open it with fear in the hope that it can also be opened with joy.

Broken windows and empty hallways
A pale dead moon in the sky streaked with gray
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

Scarecrows dressed in the latest styles
With frozen smiles to chase love away
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

Lonely, lonely
Tin can at my feet
Think I’ll kick it down the street
That’s the way to treat a friend

Bright before me the signs implore me
To help the needy and show them the way
Human kindness is overflowing
And I think it’s going to rain today

Posted in: Music, Objects